With the alterations made in the Operating Systems of iOS devices, Apple introduced certain security enhancements. Apple introduced a new method for monitoring activation lock along with by hand activating the permission when an iOS device is synced with the system. If you ever try to connect your iOS device with system with the help of USB cable then a pop-up windows will appear on your device. It will ask you whether you trust the system or not. If you click on Trust Button, then it confirms that the user has granted the computer the permission to get into any files or folders in the system.
It means once you grant the permission then it will copy your images, mp3 files, video files and sometimes erase certain files and folders from the device also. At some point of time you may have granted permission to other computers also to access files and folders in your device. But you don’t have to worry about it anymore. You are now allowed to reset these settings back and untrust certain systems which you have earlier trusted by clicking trust button in your iOS device. With the help of this article I would like to demonstrate how you can trust and untrust certain systems in your gadget.
Methods to Trust a System
If you initially sync your iOS gadget to a new system, you may examine one that this may not change anything in your system. You may wonder for the reason that even the charging plug won’t be identified. This is due the reason that you haven’t trusted the system till now. If it is then you have to unlock your device screen and insert your password if you have enabled it. Now you can see a dialog window displayed on the screen with the options – Trust and Don’t Trust. This dialog box will also inform you what will happen if you enable Trust Option. When you tap on this button, you will be allowing the system to access the files, folders and other data on your iOS device with the help of computer.
Methods to Untrust a System
This option will be helpful if you have enabled trust option for your iOS device with a particular system and you no longer use that system. In that case it is better to untrust the system and thereby blocking the permission of that system to have access to the data on your iOS gadgets. The procedure to make a system untrust is simple but it is quite tricky. This particular application doesn’t grant you the permission to untrust a system individually or to untrust a group of systems. Another option of untrusting system can be done by resetting location and privacy measures on your gadget.
You have to follow the below given steps to untrust the systems on iOS devices.
- You have to select Settings from the initial display screen.
- From there you have to select General and then Reset. You will find this option at the bottom of the screen. You may have to go down to find this option.
- There you may a number of options. You have to select Reset Location & Privacy.
- Now you have to insert the gadget passcode and then confirm this action by selecting Reset Settings. This action will not alter any settings in your iOS device. The only alteration that it makes is that all the systems that you have earlier trusted will be removed.
- After this process, your iOS device will reboot automatically. When it back alive you can confirm that everything saved is still on the system.
Even if you have any doubt, you can sync your iOS device to a computer. It may display a dialogue box displaying the message, whether you trust the system or not. This message confirms your action that the settings have been reset.
Apple has added this feature back in iOS 8 and 9. It is better to untrust all other external laptops, computers and systems and trust only one system preferably your own personal laptop. This can also prevent certain kind of viruses inside the gadget. Another highly acclaimed feature is Find My iPhone from iCloud settings, which will help you in controlling your gadget effectively.